Age of Empires II: A Historical Game Review

Fittingly we bring you something Alex wrote last year for a different project. He makes a comment about Age of Empires from the perspective of a videogame trying to represent history. Hook up!

W.U Hstry

For a long time now I have been meaning to write something combining my two favourite things, History and Videogames. So here I’m starting a new series of posts reviewing historical games. Now seems like a good time to start, as there have been quite a few significant historical games in recent years, and there are many more coming soon!

Since I started studying history at university, I have been constantly seeking out historical games, and at this point a few years on, my taste has almost entirely changed to favour any style of game with a solid historical representation, or even a loose inspiration. The first game I’m going to look at however, won’t be one of the more recent games to come out, not by a long shot. I’m going right back to the start, at least the start for me, to a game that was released in…

View original post 1,466 more words

Leave a Reply

