Character Creation – Rhia – Human Psyker

I was really disappointed at ourselves that it has taken us this long to write something on table top RPGs! I was taking part in my dad’s games before I could form coherent thoughts of my own, so really I should live up to expectations. I have now been Dming for nearly 12-13 years, and playing for just as long, if not more, so I’ve got A Lot to share. I’ll start with one character I did for one of my friend’s Warhammer 40.000 game – we were playing via forum, and things didn’t really pick up, but the effort was there, and I certainly liked the character concept.

So let me introduce you to Rhia: an imperial psyker who I hope, I’d get to tell you more about in days to come.

Rhia’s Stats:

Character details
Character details – yeah, the stats are not great, did not roll very well, but she has the points were they are needed…

Talents & Traits – and my very limited skills…

This are the trials of a level one character...
These are the trials of a level one character…
ALL of the psychic powers...didn't have to use them once as of yet...
ALL of the psychic powers…didn’t have to use them once as of yet…

In for the Kill

Needless to say, I was not expecting to genuinly face combat...
Needless to say, I was not expecting to genuinely face combat…

13 wounds. 2 fate points. 2 insanity points. That’s How We Guarantee Psykers Deaths on Game 1…

Anyway, the cool part of being Rhia is her story, so I’ll leave you with her tale:

“I’d love to tell you something about my life, but…Most of it is just a blur. I come from a pretty hideous corner of the Calixis sector. You may know the place because Marious Hax gets a lot of credit for the jack all work he does in our planet. Yeah, you may have figured – I was born in Scintilla. I don’t remember my father, I think he worked shipping off goods for the Empire. My mother used to frequent the churches and shrines, Emperor here, Emperor there…So much love for the Emperor, yet she could not love her daughter… She said I was tainted. She said I needed to be purified…

She tried to send me away…She spoke with this cleric, a chap called Marcus Fibullus – a freaking fanatic. I was well little…Or at least I think so, I mean, I am 22 now, and it was some time ago, so I must have been. Before I knew this I was sent with the church for the betterment of my soul and the Empire…Or that’s what they said…I don’t remember much…Perhaps that is an indicator that things went wrong. I mean, when I say I remember, the truth is I only have glimpses of what I have seen in my nightmares…Dark rooms, shrines of a dead God…Voices…Sometimes voices come to me, but they are faint and I won’t listen…Or I can’t…The cleric first got me for my left handiness…Then the rest came…They figured out something wasn’t normal. And then I was off again…They sent me to the service of the Astra Telepathica…A bunch of idiots who think that what lies underneath can help the Imperium…But I know that cannot help anybody…

I had a couple of bad run-ins with a pretentious Commissar – let’s call him Turok Geld, that’s how the ranks called him anyway, not even his own took him seriously – He put a pistol at my head several times…This was only a few years ago, mustn’t have been more than 19. I kept telling him that threatening his troops wouldn’t get him anywhere, that it would only unleash the darkness inside…He didn’t listen. One day he shoot a recruit right in front of me. The poor girl had barely been serving for a month – Her parents were from Neva, she wanted to join the Sororitas but…So she said or did something.Nothing bad, nothing wrong, but he just pressed the trigger…

…I don’t remember much…Next thing my eyes saw was the blood of this girl from Neva in my hands, holding a wooden amulet. I kept it. The Inquisition decided to relocate me, said I wasn’t good for morale…Kept me moving a lot for the last couple of years. A cleric said that moving would help my “issues”…Issues…Like If I was The Problem…And now here I am…I don’t remember much…However, there is a roar in the air that keeps on calling at me…From the dark…It is getting louder…Getting louder since I started moving through freaking space…I hope that wherever is it that they are sending me now is for good…At least for a little while…or I don’t know what will happen the next time this darkness awakes…”

Leave a Reply

